Dictionaries - English, Law, and Others

This new dictionary makes an important and innovative contribution to the reference literature on the environment. International in scope, it provides up-to-date entries on macro and micro issues in environmental law in both developed and developing countries. Written by an author with both practical experience in the field, and six previous dictionaries to his name, this book adopts non-technical language to improve access to key topics in environmental law. It combines the use of case studies, best practice models, straightforward definitions and clear explanatory boxes.

Intellectual property has a vast, perplexing and diverse vocabulary, and this enriching Dictionary provides a starting point for understanding new concepts and crafting precise definitions to meet the needs of a particular case. Not only are new words and phrases being coined as technology changes and the law follows, but also the international scope of intellectual property means that IP lawyers will encounter foreign words and phrases.

Modern legal theory contains a wide range of approaches and topics: from economic analysis of law to feminist legal theory to traditional analytical legal philosophy to a range of theories about justice. This healthy variety of jurisprudential work has created a problem: students and theorists working in one tradition may have difficulty understanding the concepts and terminology of a different tradition. This book works to make terminology and ways of thinking accessible.

Significant use has been made of the jurisprudence of the International Court of Justice because it is the principle judicial organ of the world's most universal international organization, the United Nations. Moreover, article 103 of the Charter of the United Nations makes the obligations in this treaty superior any other treaty obligations into which States may enter.
Also available online: https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/14728327

A focused, invaluable guide to nonprofit legal terminology and definitions The Bruce R. Hopkins Nonprofit Law Dictionary is a thorough professional reference for the terminology and definitions surrounding the law of tax-exempt organizations. Author Bruce R. Hopkins, the country's leading expert in nonprofit law, draws upon 45 years of practice to deliver a true dictionary reference for attorneys specializing in nonprofit law and tax law. The book's terminology and definitions are derived from constantly changing statutes, government agency regulations and rulings, court opinions, and government forms and instructions, with citations provided where appropriate.

Leach's Tax Dictionary contains over 1,000 pages of definitions. It has three sections: 1. definitions; 2. abbreviations found in official publications, including government press releases where new abbreviations are made up almost every week; and 3. a list of tax rates and other information which may be of use to a tax accountant or lawyer. This book is a dictionary and not a tax manual. It provides a ready source of information to those who already have some understanding of tax.

Presented in an easily digestible format, this go-to desktop reference guide provides explanations and clarifications on a variety of legal issues and concerns facing today's museum professional in over 200 plain-language dictionary entries. Written by a past museum director with legal training, this reference book is intended to be kept within arm's reach at a desk and be the first stop for a professional whenever a question arises.

Updated and expanded to reflect the most recent developments and revisions in Canadian national and provincial law, Barron's Canadian Law Dictionary is a concise guide to legal citation in Canada. Supplemented with information on relevant source materials, particularly in cases and statutes, this handy and easy-to-use reference includes: Concise definitions for key terms in Canadian law Overview of the Canadian court system The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in its entirety

The bestselling title in the Oxford Quick Reference series, A Dictionary of Law is an essential reference work, described by leading university lecturers as 'the best law dictionary' and favoured by law students and legal professionals alike.The tenth edition features over 4,900 clear and concise definitions on major terms, concepts, and processes within the English legal system, and is a useful source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.

This unique collection of data includes concise definitions and explanations on all aspects of the European Union. It explains the terminology surrounding the EU and outlines the roles and significance of the institutions, member countries, programmes and policies, treaties and personalities. It contains over 1,000 clear and succinct definitions, spelling out acronyms and abbreviations, arranged alphabetically and fully cross-referenced.

This dictionary was conceived to provide both the professional and the non-professional user with basic legal terminology in the forever changing pattern of world politics and the internationalisation, globalisation, of legal issues. Terms were selected from internationally accepted and used sources: basic documents (important treaties, conventions, agreements, protocols, model laws, uniform practices, recommendations, reports, rules etc.), relevant legal concepts, such as the "lex mercatoria" (principles of international trade law), and generally accepted legal terms in international trade (such as the Incoterms).

As knowledge of Latin continues to diminish, its frequent use in cases, textbooks, treaties, and scholarly works baffles law students, practitioners, and scholars alike. Many of the Latin terms commonly used by international lawyers are not included in some of the more popular law dictionaries. Terms and phrases included in modern dictionaries usually offer nothing more than a literal translation without sufficient explanation or context provided.

This Dictionary provides over 135,000 entries and nearly 185,000 equivalents covering all areas of law, plus relevant terms in related spheres of expertise. It is the Dictionary that lawyers, educators, students, translators, and in general those working in both languages in law and associated fields have been trusting since the First Edition was published in 1993.

The Ricci Dictionary of Chinese Law (in Simplified Chinese) includes approximately 24,000 Chinese legal terms used by Chinese and foreign lawyers in mainland China, transcribed into pinyin and translated into English and French. The Dictionary was prepared between 2006 and 2018 by a team of French and Chinese lawyers, as well as American, Canadian, English and Australian contributors, under the guidance of the Ricci Association, in order to complete and supplement the "Grand dictionnaire Ricci de la langue chinoise" (also named "Grand Ricci", a dictionary published in 2001 encompassing more than 300,000 terms).