Don't Ask. Don't Tell. Don't Pursue.

• 1993-2003 Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell (DADT) Timeline from the Servicemembers Legal Defense Network (SLDN)
• 1993-2003 Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Narrative from the SLDN
• 1994-2006 Chart of Total Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Discharges from the SLDN

– President Obama consistently called for an end to DADT.

– By a vote of 234 to 194 [on May 27, 2010], the House of Representatives adopted an amendment to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) that would lead to the repeal of DADT in early 2011.

– The Senate Armed Servcies Committee (SASC) added an identical provision in the bill it reported to the Senate the same day.

– Senate John McCain (R-AZ) filibustered the entire NDAA, which included DADT repeal, on September 21, 2010, and again on December 9, 2010.

– Admiral Michael Mullen, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and Robert Gates, Secretary of Defense, told the SASC on December 2, 2010 that they wanted repeal to happen [in 2010].

– On December 15, 2010, the House passed a stand-alone DADT bill [H.R. 2965 ~ the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Repeal Act of 2010], 250-175. This bill refleted the language of the repeal provision in the NDAA.

– On December 18, 2010, the Senate passed the House’s stand-alone DADT bill, 65-31.

– President Obama signed the [Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Repeal Act of 2010] on December 22, 2010. However, repeal [had] yet to be certified [by the President, Secretary of Defense and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff], and DADT [remained] the law.

The purpose of this bibliography is two-fold:
(1) To collect and analyze the monographic and periodical literature that contains the text or provides a significant analysis or synthesis of primary sources — statutes, regulations, directives, court opinions, — relating to the issue of gay people in the armed forces; and

(2) To list and annotate publications issued or commissioned by the United States Department of Defense and its service branches related to the issues of gay people in the armed forces.

I.  Monographs

Belkin, Aaron and Geoffrey Bateman, Editors
Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell: Debating the Gay Ban in the Military. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., 2003
Contents include:
Introduction, by Aaron Belkin and Geoffrey BatemanHistory Repeating Itself: A Historical Overview of Gay Men and Lesbians in the Military Before “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell,” by Timothy Haggerty Does the Gay Ban Preserve Soldiers’ Privacy? Are Foreign Military Experiences Relevant to the United States?  What Does “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Cost?
Openly Gay Service Members Tell Their Stories: Steve May and Rob Nunn
What Have We Learned? The Future of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”
Appendix: The “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Law
Selected Bibliography; The Contributors; Index; About the Book

Berube, Allan
Coming Out Under Fire: The History of Gay Men and Women in World War Two. New York, NY: Free Press, 1990

Boushka, Bill
Do Ask, Do Tell: A Gay Conservative Lashes Back. Minneapolis. MN: High Productivity Publishing, 1997

Collins, Allyson
Uniform Discrimination: The “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Policy Of The U.S. Military. NY: Human Rights Watch, 2003

Davis, Major Jeffrey S.
Military Policy Toward Homosexuals: Scientific, Historic and Legal Perspectives. LL.M. Thesis, Army JAG School, 1990

Embser-Herbert, Melissa Sheridan
The U.S. Military’s “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Policy: A Reference Handbook. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2007

Eskridge, William N., Jr.
Gaylaw Challenging the Apartheid of the Closet. Cambridge, MA Harvard University Press, 1999

Frank, Nathaniel
Unfriendly Fire: How The Gay Ban Undermines The Military And Weakens America. NY: Thomas Dunne Books, 2009

Fielding, Ian Robert
Assessing Value Argument: The United States Military’s Policy of Discriminating on the Basis of Sexual Orientation (Military Policy, Homosexual). Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 1992
Gays: In or Out?: The U.S. Military and Homosexuals: A Sourcebook. Washington, DC: Brassey’s (US), 1993
First work originally published: Military Necessity and Homosexuality by Ronald D. Ray, 1st ed., Louisville, KY: First Principles, 1993.  Second work originally published: Defense Force Management: DoD’s Policy on Homosexuality by the United States General Accounting Office, Washington, DC: The Office, 1992.

Halley, Janet E.
Don’t: A Reader’s Guide to the Military’s Anti-Gay Policy. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1999.
Homosexuality and the Military: A Sourcebook of Official, Uncensored U.S. Government Documents. Upland, PA: Diane Publishing, 1993
Contents include: 1) DoD’s Policy on Homosexuality; a report by the U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO) (June 1992); 2) The Crittenden Report; report of the board appointed to prepare and submit recommendations to the Secretary of the Navy for the revision of policies, procedures and directives dealing with homosexuals (21 Dec. 1956 – 15 March 1957); 3) Homosexuality and Personnel Security (Sept. 1991); and 4) A Report to the Human Rights Campaign Fund on Public Attitudes toward Homosexuals and their Place in the Military (April 18, 1991).

Lacy, Bill F.
The Homosexual in Uniform. Maxwell Air Force Base, AL: Air University, 1976

McPeak, Merrill A.
Selected Works, 1990-1994. Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama:  Air University Press, 1995
This book contains two documents that pertain to the issues of gays in the military: 1) Chapter 22 is entitled “Transition Challenges” and it is the text of “Memorandum for the President-Elect, 21 December 1992.” In this memorandum, General McPeak outlines his three step phased approach to the question of gays in the Air Force:  Step 1, rescind the ban; step 2, deal with conduct; step 3, study the impact of allowing service by declared homosexuals. 2) Chapter 30 is entitled “Lifting the Ban on Homosexuals in the Military” and it contains an excerpt from “Hearings before the House Military Forces and Personnel Subcommittee of the Committee on Armed Services, Washington, D.C. 21 July 1993”. A note to the chapter reads,

“During the 1992 election campaign, candidate Clinton promised to end the practice of excluding declared homosexuals from military service.  Following the election, the service chiefs advised that they could stop asking about homosexual orientation or previous behavior on entry forms.  They also concurred in ending investigations based on less-than-substantial evidence of homosexual behavior.  On the other hand, the chiefs advised against allowing open homosexuality in the ranks.  After six months of national debate, President Clinton announced what he called ‘an honorable compromise’ that receded to the chiefs’ position in all essential respects.  This became the so-called “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue” policy.”

National Defense Research Institute (RAND Corporation)
Sexual Orientation and U.S. Military Personnel Policy: Options and Assessment. Santa Monica, CA: RAND, 1993

Report on Homosexuality with Particular Emphasis on the Problem in Governmental Agencies. Formulated by the Committee on Cooperation with Governmental (Federal) Agencies of the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry. Topeka, KS: Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry, 1955

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
Military Policy Fact Sheet. Washington, DC: NGLTF, 1993

Includes attachments: Countering military arguments against gay and lesbian service members (4 p.); Policy on homosexuality, Department of Defense (1 p.); How much does discrimination in the Armed Services cost? (2 p.); and copies of several newspaper editorials.

Office of the Inspector General, Department of the Defense
Military Environment with Respect to the Homosexual Conduct Policy. Department of Defense, Report D-2000-101, March 16, 2000.

Press Release: “Secretary Cohen Calls for Action Plan to Reduce Harassment”, March 24, 2000.

Sarbin, Theodore R.; and Karols, Kenneth E. (Prepared by:)
Nonconforming Sexual Orientations and Military Suitability. [Monterey, CA?]: Defense Personnel Security Research and Education Center, 1988

PERS-TR-89-002
Cover letter and press release by Congressman Gerry E. Studds and three internal Defense Department memoranda attached.

Sheng, Jeff
Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. Los Angeles, CA: Jeff Sheng Studios 2010

Shilts, Randy
Conduct Unbecoming:  Gays & Lesbians in the U.S. Military (CD-ROM). San Francisco, CA:  ApolloMedia, 1995

This product offers a multimedia presentation of Randy Shilts’s landmark 1994 book of the same title.  The CD-ROM includes the full text of the book, enhanced by music, audio and video clips.  The reader can see and hear the actors, for example Colonel Margarethe Cammermeyer, speak in their own voices.  The text of the book is key word and phrase computer searchable. The CD-ROM adds 163 pages in a documents section; the documents, often excerpted, include:  statements (Elzie, Panicia, Cammermeyer, others) and letters to the Armed Services Committee; prepared statement of Col. Cammermeyer; Crittendon Report notes; Text of Senate Bill 1337 (1993), “Policy Concerning Homosexuality in the Armed Forces”; the DoD policy; a senate document, dated September 28, 1850 entitled “Maintain Flogging in the Navy”; the Sarbin & Karols PERSEREC Report (PERS-TN-890992) [described below]; the “Rand Report”, “Sexual Orientation and U.S. Military Personnel Policy Options and Assessment [described below]; GAO report [described below]; The Military by Rhonda R. Ribera; Armed Services — Equality Within; 13 FR 4313, Establishing the President’s Committee on Equality of Treatment and Opportunity in the Armed Service, July 26, 1948. Harry S. Truman; Ensign Karen Stupski’s last evaluation; letter to Jean Appelby Jackson, Chair Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Service from members of the Congressional Caucus for Women’s Issues; Teletype surveillance reports of the ONI investigation on Tom Dooley.

Stanford Law School
When “Don’t ask, don’t tell” becomes “Do ask, do tell” : a military perspective on
workplace equality and what to do in the interim. Stanford, CA: Stanford Law School, 2010.

Steffan, Joseph
Gays and the Military: Joseph Steffan versus the United States. Marc Wolinsky and Kenneth Sherrill, editors, Princeton, NJ: University Press, 1993

Selected records and judgment in the case of Joseph C. Steffan v. Richard B. Cheney, Secretary of Defense, heard by the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

Symons, Johnny
Ask Not (Video). Berkeley, CA.: Persistent Visions; Harriman, NY: New Day Films, 2008

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Armed Services
Testimony Relating To The “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Policy: Hearing Before The Committee on Armed Services, United States Senate, One Hundred Eleventh Congress, second session, March 18, 2010. Washington: U.S. G.P.O.: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2010.

Review of the DOD Process for Assessing the Requirements to Implement Repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, [H.A.S.C. No. 111-130], March 3, 2010, 111-2 Hearing. Washington: U.S. G.P.O.: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2010.

United States. Congress. House. Committee on Armed Services. Subcommittee on Military Personnel.
Don’t ask, Don’t Tell Review: Hearing Before The Military Personnel Subcommittee Of The Committee On Armed Services, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, second session, hearing held, July 23, 2008. Washington: U.S.G.P.O.: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S.G.P.O., 2009

United States. Dept. of Defense. Office of the Secretary of Defense. Military Working Group
Summary Report of the Military Working Group / Office of the Secretary of Defense. Washington, DC: Office of the Secretary of Defense, 1993

“Policy on Homosexual Conduct in the Armed Forces” inserted at end.

United States. General Accounting Office
Defense Force Management: Statistics related to DoD’s Policy on Homosexuality: Report to Congressional requesters. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO), 1992

Supplemented by Defense Force Management: Statistics related to DoD’s policy on homosexuality [see next entry].

United States. General Accounting Office
Defense Force Management: Statistics related to DoD’s Policy on Homosexuality: Supplement to a report to Congressional requesters. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO), 1992

United States.  General Accounting Office
Homosexuals in the Military:  Polices and Practices of Foreign Countries:  Report to the Honorable John W. Warner, U.S. Senate. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO), 1993

This report was issued in response to Congressional interest in foreign comparative military polices dealing with gay people.  Twenty five countries were surveyed; of these countries eleven ban gays from military service; eleven specifically allow gays to serve in the armed forces; three countries’ laws are select on the issue.  Four countries — Canada, Germany, Israel and Sweden — were reviewed in more detail than the other countries and the appendixes to this book include detailed summaries of legislation in these countries.  Military officials from Canada, Israel and Sweden reported that the inclusion of gay people in the military was not a problem and has not adversely affected readiness, effectiveness or morale; German officials reported that problems associated with homosexual service are treated upon a case by case basis but that the inclusion of gays in general has not created significant problems.

Wells-Petry, Captain Melissa
The Power to Raise and Support Armies: The Homosexual Exclusion Policy in Perspective. LL.M. Thesis, Army JAG School, 1993

Williams, Colin J.
Homosexuals and the Military: A Study of Less than Honorable Discharge. New York, NY: Harper & Row, 1971

II. Articles

Brekhus, Elizabeth
“Is There a Safe Haven for Homosexuals in the Military?”
Journal of Law & Social Challenges, Fall 1998, Vol. 2, Pages 199-219

Kier, Elizabeth
“Homosexuals in the U.S. Military:  Open Integration and Combat Effectiveness”
International Security, Fall 1998, Vol. 23, No. 2 Pages 5-39

Robbins, Kalyani
“Framers’ Intent and Military Power: Has Supreme Court Deference to the Military Gone Too Far?”
Oregon Law Review, 1999, Vol. 78, No.3, page 767

The focus of this article is primarily on the problem of deference to the military in general, but it has a significant section on the DADT policy, which it uses as a main example of what can result from the deference problem, and as an area to be used for softening the doctrine.

Seamon, Aaron A.
“Comment: The Flawed Compromise of 10 USC 654 An Assessment of the Military’s ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ Policy”
Dayton Law Review, Winter 1999, Vol. 24, Page 319

Wells-Petry, Melissa
“Rule of Law or Reign of Terror Military Policy on Homosexuality as a Case Study in Statutory Construction Without the Statute”
Journal of Law & Social Challenges, Fall 1998, Vol. 2, Pages 1-56

Wilson, Bridget J.
“Trench Fighting Representing Gay Men, Lesbians and Bisexuals in the Military”
Journal of Law & Social Challenges, Fall 1998, Vol. 2, Pages 135-176

Yoshino, Kenji
“Assimmilationist Bias in Equal Protection The Visibility Presumption and the Case of ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell'”
Yale Law Journal, December, 1998, Vol. 108, Page 485

 

• Articles
  • A Ban by Any Other Name: Ten Years of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell
    By Sharon E. Debbage Alexander,Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal, Volume 21, Number 2, Spring 2004, 403.
  • Act Like a Lady!: Reconsidering Gender Stereotypes & the Exclusion of Women from Combat in Light of Challenges to “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”
    By Angela Rollins (Winter 2012)
    Southern Illinois University Law Journal, Volume 36, Winter 2012, 335.
  • After Repeal of ‘Don’t Ask,’ Elite Colleges Rethink ROTC
    By Kelly Field, The Chronicle of Higher Education, January 14, 2011, A1, A7, A18
  • Ask, Tell and Be Merry: The Constitutionality of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Following Lawrence v. Texas and United States v. Marcum
    By Evangelos Kostoulas, University of Pennsylvania Journal of Constitutional Law, Volume 9, Number 2, January 2007, 565.
  • Constitutional Law Doctrine Meets Reality: Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell in Light of Lawrence v. Texas
    By Pamela Glazner, Santa Clara Law Review, Volume 46, Number 3, 2006, 635.
  • Constitutional Law — “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell:” Acceptable in an Accepting Society? Cook v. Gates
    By Brett E. Heyman, Suffolk University Law Review, Volume 42, Number 2, Spring 2009, 321.
  • Cook v. Gates: Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Remains a Legal Option for the Military, But the End May Be in Sight
    By Chrisopher Scott, Law & Sexuality: Review of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Legal Issues, Volume 18, Number 1, 2009, 183.
  • Cook v. Gates and Witt v. Department of the Air Force: Judicial Deference and the Future of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell
    By Gustavo Oliveira, University of Miami Law Review, Volume 64, Number 1, October 2009, 397.
  • “‘Don’t ask, don’t tell’ a bad deal for gays in the military, Halley says,” By Elaine Ray, Stanford Report [Online], September 29, 1999
  • Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell: A Dying Policy on the Precipice
    By Robert I. Correales, California Western Law Review, Volume 44, Number 2, Spring 2008, 413.
  • Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell: A Legal Analysis
    By Jody Feder, Congressional Research Service, 15 September 2010, R40795.
  • ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ and ROTC’s Future at Elite Colleges
    By Donald Alexander Downs and Ilia Murtazashvili, The Chronicle of Higher Education, January 14, 2011, A64
  • Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Work: The Discriminatory Effect of Veterans’ Preferences on Homosexuals
    By Louis J. Virelli, III, John Marshall Law Review, Volume 38, Number 4, Summer 2005, 1083.
  • Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Revisited: Debunking the Unit-Cohesion Rationale for the Continuing Exclusion of Gays from the Military
    By Matthew P. Lynch, University of Louisville Law Review, Volume 47, Number 2, 2008, 391.
  • The Education of a Sailor
    By Keith Taylor, Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal, Volume 21, Number 2, Spring 2004, 455.
  • Effects of the 1992 Lifting of Restrictions on Gay and Lesbian Service in the Canadian Forces: Appraising the Evidence
    Aaron Belkin and Jason McNichol, Center for the Study of Sexual Minorities in the Military at University of California at Santa Barbara (April 2000)
  • The Effects of Including Gay and Lesbian Soldiers in the Australian Defense Forces: Appraising the Evidence
    By Aaron Belkin and Jason McNichol, Center for the Study of Sexual Minorities in the Military at University of California at Santa Barbara (September 2000)
  • The Effects of Including Gay and Lesbian Soldiers in the British Armed Forces: Appraising the Evidence
    By Aaron Belkin and R.L. Evans, Center for the Study of Sexual Minorities in the Military at University of California at Santa Barbara (November 2000)
  • The Effects of Repealing Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell: Is the Combat Exclusion the Next Casualty in the March Toward Integration?
    By Carla Crandall, Georgetown Journal of Law & Public Policy, Volume 10, Number 1, Winter 2012, 15.
  • Essential to the National Security: An Executive Ban on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell
    By Pamela Lundquist, American University Journal of Gender, Social Policy & Law, Volume 16, Number 1, 2007, 115.
  • Fighting to Serve: Behind the Scenes in the War to Repeal “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”
    By Alexander Nicholson (Chicago: Chicago Review Press, 2012)
  • Guilty as Charged
    By Jay Hatheway, Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal, Volume 21, Number 2, Spring 2004, 443.
  • The History of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell in the Army: How We Got to It and Why It is What It Is
    By Fred L. Borch, III, Military Law Review, Volume 203, Number 1, Spring 2010, 189.
  • Homosexual Litigation Update, by Major Mickle; Army Lawyer (2/1997), Department of the Army Pamphlet 27-50-291 USALSA Report: Litigation Division Note
  • Homosexual Litigation Update by Major Mickle
  • Homosexuality and the Israel Defense Forces: Did Lifting the Gay Ban Undermine Military Performance?
    By Aaron Belkin & Melissa Levitt, Armed Forces and Socity, Volume 27, Number 4, 2001.
  • How Do You Say Gay in Arabic — Being Essential under Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell
    By Alastair Gamble, Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal, Volume 21, Number 2, Spring 2004, 437.
  • Is Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Unconstitutional after Lawrence — What It Will Take to Overturn the Policy
    By Diane H. Mazur (Summer 2004), University of Florida Journal of Law & Public Policy, Volume 15, Number 3, Summer 2004, 423.
  • Is It Time? Reform of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” and Article 125 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice
    By Levi Bennett (Fall 2009), Southern Illinois University Law Journal, Volume 34, Fall 2009, p. 175.
  • Kirkwood Moot Court Competition 1998, Don’t Ask/Don’t Tell was the topic for the 1998 Kirkwood Moot Court competition at Stanford Law School.
    • Moot Court Transcript of Record
    • Brief for the Petitioner
      Counsel for the Petitioner: Eulonda Goosby Skyles, Karen Leslie Stevenson
    • Brief for the Respondents
      Counsel for the Respondents: Erich Grosz, Rua Kelly
  • Lambda Liberty Awards — Acceptance Speech of William A. Norris (10/16/97)
  • Law schools resisting policy – Local, national groups fight law tying funding to military recruiting. By Dana Mulhauser, Senior staff writer, Stanford Daily, March 1, 1999
  • Law School Strategies for Amelioration and Protest: What Law Schools Can Do
    By James G. Leipold, Journal ofLegal Education, Volume 57, Number 2, 2007, 172.
  • Looking For a Few Good….Answers, by John Aravosis
  • Let the Small Changes Begin: President Obama, Executive Power, and “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell”
    By Jackie Gardina, Boston University Public Interest Law Journal, Volume 18, Number 2, Spring 2009, 237.
  • Military Discrimination on the Basis of Sexual Orientation: Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell and the Solomon Amendment
    By Lindsay Gayle Stevenson, Loyola of Los Angeles Law Review, Volume 37, Number 4, Spring 2004), 1331.
  • Office of the Inspector General, Department of the Defense, Military Environment with Respect to the Homosexual Conduct Policy Department of Defense, Report D-2000-101, March 16, 2000.
  • Palm Center, One Year Out: An Assessment of DADT Repeal’s Impact on Military Readiness, September 20, 2012.
  • Press Release: “Secretary Cohen Calls for Action Plan to Reduce Harassment“, March 24, 2000.
  • Policy may threaten aid – Law School must be wary of military recruiting law,
    By Dana Mulhauser, Senior staff writer, Stanford Daily, February 26, 1999
  • Political Representation and Accountability under Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell
    By Tobias Barrington Wolff, Iowa Law Review, Volume 89, Number 5, May 2004, 1633.
  • Queer Eye for the Military Guy: Will Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Survive in the Wake of Lawrence v. Texas
    By Gavin W. Scotti, Jr., St. John’s Law Review, Volume 78, Number 3, Summer 2004, 897.
  • Reconciling Lawrence v. Texas with Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”: The Value of the Cook v. Gates Intermediate-Deferential Approach
    By Steven J. Fugelsang, George Mason University Civil Rights Law Journal, Volume 20, Number 2, Spring 2010, 237.
  • Repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell: A Smooth Transition
    By Sharon E. Debbage Alexander & Kathi S. Westcott, Washington & Lee Journal of Civil Rights and Social Justice, Volume 15, Number 1, Fall 2008, 129.
  • The Repeal of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”
    2011 Special Issue [Volume 18, Number 1] of the William & Mary Journal of Women and the Law (Fall 2011)
  • Service Member Experience Roundtable
    Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal, Volume 21, Number 2, Spring 2004, 483.
  • Serving with Integrity: The Rationale for the Repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell and Its Ban on Acknowledged Homosexuals in the Armed Forces
    By Laura R. Kesler, Military Law Review, Volume 203, Number 1, Spring 2010, 284.
  • Sexually Speaking: Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell and the First Amendment after Lawrence v. Texas
    By Shannon Gilreath, Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy, Volume 14, Number 2, May 2007, 953.
  • Should Law Schools Bar Student Organizations from Inviting the Military to Campus for Recruitment Purposes
    By Joan Schaffner, Journal of Legal Education, Volume 57, Number 2, 2007, 162.
  • Silent Sacrifices: The Impact of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell on Lesbian and Gay Military Families
    By Kathi Westcott & Rebecca Sawyer, Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy, Volume 14, Number 2, May 2007, 1121.
• SLDN Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell:
  • Tenth Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue (2004)
  • Ninth Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue (2003)
  • Eighth Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue, Don’t Harass  (2002)
  • Seventh Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue (2001)
  • Sixth Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue (2000)
  • Fifth Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue
  • Fourth Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue
  • Third Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue
  • Second Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue
  • First Annual Report on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue
• Additional Resources
  • The States As Laboratories For Social Experiments: A Proposal Asking President Obama To Use The National Guards As Laboratories To Reason Our Way Out Of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”
    By Rufino Gaytan, III, Wisconsin Journal of Law, Gender & Society, Volume 24, Number 1, Spring 2009, 1.
  • Straight Talk: The Implications of Repealing Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell and the Rationale for Preserving Aspects of the Current Policy
    By Sherilyn A. Bunn, Military Law Review, Volume 203, Number 1, Spring 2010, 207.
  • Telling: Living with Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell
    By Shalanda H. Baker, Journal of Legal Education, Volume 57, Number 2, 2007, 187.
  • The United States Military’s “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Policy: The Aftermath of Lawrence
    By Anna K. Schall, Kansas Journal of Law & Public Policy, Volume 19, Number 2, Winter 2010, 341.
  • Veterans Battle to Regain ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ Losses
    By Aaron Glantz (publisher Apr. 20, 2011), New York Times (May 1, 2011)
  • Veterans Speak Out: A Collection of Essays from the Documenting Courage Project
    By Phil Adams; Sharon E. Debbage Alexander; Patricia Baillie; & Lara Ballard, Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal, Volume 21, Number 2, Spring 2004, 461.
  • Witt v. Department of the Air Force — Subjects “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” to Intermediate Scrutiny
    By Jessica L. Beeler, Golden Gate University Law Reviw, Volume 39, Number 3, Spring 2009, 363.