Researching and Locating Supreme Court Materials

-Supreme Court Records and Briefs provides nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs from over 150,000 cases brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. Users may search the full text of more than 350,000 documents, including appellant’s and appellee’s briefs, and petitions for writ of certiorari.
(Note: Supreme Court Records and Briefs is available to all Stanford University users.)

-Select briefs from 1933 through the present term are available on Supreme Court Insight.
(Note: Supreme Court Insight is available to all Stanford University users.)

-Earliest brief dated August 12, 1936 through current. Includes merit briefs for cases granted certiorari and special masters, amicus curiae briefs, and joint appendices beginning in January 1979, with selected coverage from 1936. All briefs are available for cases granted certiorari beginning after the 1993-1994 term; also includes briefs petitioning for certiorari in civil cases (other than habeas cases) from the 1999-2000 term through current. For civil cases where cert. is denied, briefs are provided for cases on the paid docket but are not provided for cases on the In Forma Pauperis docket. No cert-stage briefs are provided for habeas cases or for criminal cases that are summarily decided or where cert. is denied.
Explore Content > Content Type > Briefs, Pleadings and Motions > Federal > U.S. Supreme Court Briefs
(Note: Access to Lexis+ is limited to Stanford Law School users by personal username and password.)

-Includes select petitions from 1985 to the present (Browse > All Content > Briefs > U.S. Supreme Court Petitions for Writ of Certiorari)
(Note: Access to Westlaw Precision is limited to Stanford Law School users by personal username and password.)
-Includes briefs and amicus briefs from 1930 to the present (Browse > All Content > Briefs > U.S. Supreme Court Briefs)

-Contains briefs from 1982 to the present

-Contains briefs from the 1999 term through 2007 term

-Contains select briefs from 1979 to 1995

"The Tribal Supreme Court Project collects court documents for Indian law cases pending before the U.S. Supreme Court." Docket sheets, briefs, and, for select cases, lower court materials are available from October 2001 term to the present.

Contains briefs from select constitutional law cases