Transactional Law Research

Picturing Corporate Practice is intended for law students interested in corporate and transactional work and for lawyers new to the practice. The book includes a brief overview of corporate practice and chapters focused on advice development, transaction planning and management, legal documents, board meetings, litigation (from a corporate perspective), SEC filings, corporate pro bono, and client service. The book features a user-friendly design, informal writing style, and over 50 diagrams, timelines, and other graphics. It includes considerable vocabulary, how-things-work information, and practical suggestions for the new lawyer. In addition, the book offers ideas for using visual approaches in dealing with problems, plans, and documents across the practice. The author is a Stanford Law School professor who practiced for many years as a senior in-house lawyer and law firm partner before joining Stanford to develop and direct its transactional clinic.

"The Seventh Edition explores the role of directors in the ever-evolving area of engagement between a corporation and its shareholders"--

Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation.

An eagerly anticipated second edition of this established and highly regarded text teaches the key practice skill of contract drafting, with emphasis on how to incorporate the business deal into the contract and add value to the client's deal.

The second edition of Charles Fox's bestselling paperback guide, Working with Contracts: What Law School Doesn't Teach You, updates the original edition published in 2002.The perfect resource for new associates, law school students, business people, or anyone who frequently deals with complex contracts, the Second Edition expands existing material on contract covenants and remedies for breach of a covenant; due diligence conditions; organization of the agreement; credit-related provisions; acquisition-related provisions; the integration clause; and indemnification. Other miscellaneous revisions are found in every chapter of the Second Edition. In addition, the glossary and the index have been thoroughly revised. In its updated form, Working with Contracts remains the most useful and practical guide for anyone dealing with sophisticated agreements.

With A Manual of Style for Contract Drafting, Kenneth A. Adams has created a uniquely in-depth survey of the building blocks of contract language. First published in 2004, it offers those who draft, review, negotiate, or interpret contracts an alternative to the dysfunction of traditional contract language and the inertia and flawed conventional wisdom that perpetuate it. This manual has become a vital resource throughout the legal profession, in the United States and internationally. This updated edition contains almost one hundred pages of new material addressing many topics, making it even more authoritative and essential. This manual's focus remains how to express contract terms in prose that is free of the archaisms, redundancies, ambiguities, and other problems that afflict traditional contract language. With exceptional analysis and an unmatched level of practical detail, Mr. Adams highlights common sources of confusion and recommends clearer and more concise alternatives. This manual is organized to facilitate easy reference, and it illustrates its analysis with numerous examples. Consult it to save time in drafting and negotiation and to reduce the risk of dispute.

This title will help you acquire an understanding of the basic content and organization of federal and state securities law. It provides a summary of an intricate regulatory system. An authoritative summary, it covers the essential background and current status of each major area, while keeping details and citations to a minimum. It discusses the regulations governing public offerings, public companies, exemptions from SEC disclosure requirements, securities broker-dealers, as well as investment companies and investment advisers. It also explores sanctions, civil liabilities, and extraterritorial application, the Dodd-Frank Act as well as the JOBS Act, including the crowdfunding and expanded Regulation A exemptions.

The seventh edition of Understanding Securities Law provides comprehensive coverage of the federal securities laws, including legislative, judicial, and SEC pronouncements. Additions to the new edition include the 2015 congressional legislation (the FAST Act), SEC rule-making with respect to capital raising, and important U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Like earlier editions, the seventh edition follows a logical sequence of analysis of a securities issue. The author begins by defining security and registration exemptions, and then continues through the process for non-exempt transactions. Understanding Securities Law clearly, thoroughly, and concisely addresses the subjects covered in basic Securities Regulation courses, including: The definition of securities exemptions from registration; the registration framework and process; Sarbanes-Oxley Act; Dodd-Frank Act SEC Securities Act Offering Rules; Resales and reorganizations; Due diligence; Liabilities and remedies; Affirmative disclosure duties; Insider trading; SEC enforcement; and Professional responsibility. The author also includes a glossary of key terms, statutes, rules, regulations and forms and schedules, and comparative charts synopsizing previously discussed materials. The text covers the regulation of public and privately held companies under the Securities Acts, SEC fraud, concepts, civil liabilities under the securities laws, and state Blue Sky laws. It also discusses the Sarbanes-Oxley legislation, SEC public offering rules, SEC regulations on the resale of securities, and recent federal Supreme Court and appellate court decisions. This widely-adopted reference text continues to be embraced as a "go-to" source for both law students and practicing attorneys.

Contains a chapter on securities regulation research.