Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Transactional Law Research

This guide provides an overview of transactional law research resources.

Company Profiles and Financial Data

A company profile is an in-depth report on a company. Public companies issue securities and trade on a stock exchange, whereas private companies are privately owned and do not have shares traded in public exchanges. It is usually much easier to research public companies than private companies because the SEC requires public companies to make financial disclosures.   

Bloomberg Law Business Intelligence

Bloomberg Law Business Intelligence offers access to company profiles through its Company Lookup tool. Company information includes financials, holdings, corporate actions, management profiles, issuer credit ratings, filings, capital structures, key financial ratios, and company hierarchies, in addition to news, company data, and litigation analytics. 

Another source of company information is the Bloomberg Terminals. The Bloomberg Terminals located in the Robert Crown Law Library will also provide access to Bloomberg Professional's financial analysis and more detailed company information. This is separate from the Bloomberg Law account that law students have access to. GSB has a Bloomberg guide with information about how to use the terminals 

Lexis Advance

Lexis provides access to a Company and Financial collection of company profiles, industry analyst reports, and information and mergers & acquisitions and donations by companies. 

Additional Databases Available Through the Stanford GSB Library

The Business Library provides access to several databases containing company reports as well as financial data. Please see the Business Library's Research Databases & Datasets list for a more comprehensive list of databases and their Company Information research guide for guidance on how to use these resources. 

Business Journals, Magazines, and Trade Publications

Business and Economics Databases at Stanford University