Search law journal articles to identify whether there might be a 50-state survey on your topic of interest. You can conduct an advanced search for your topic with the words "survey" and "state" on databases such as EBSCO, HeinOnline, Westlaw, and Lexis.
The Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, available to all Stanford University users, indexes 1,100 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, and university publications, including more than 320 law reviews with coverage beginning with 1981.
How to Use: Click on "Advanced Search." Recommended search fields include TX All Text Fields, AB Abstract, and SU Subject.
HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, available to all Stanford University users, contains full-text, PDF copies of over 2,200 law and law-related periodicals dating back to the first issue for each periodical.
How to Use: On HeinOnline's homepage, select the "Law Journal Library" under "Browse Databases by Name" (should be first option). Click on "Advanced Search" underneath the search bar at the top of the screen, then limit your search to Articles, Comments, and Notes.
Access to Westlaw is limited to Stanford Law School users by personal name and password.
Check (1) Law Reviews & Journals and (2) Legal Resource Index. The Legal Resources Index (electronic companion to Current Law Index) contains abstracts from journals with coverage beginning with 1980.
How to Use:
(1) Law Reviews & Journals: On Westlaw's homepage, select "Secondary Sources," then select "Law Reviews & Journals." Click on "Advanced" near the search bar in the upper righthand corner.
(2) Legal Resource Index: On Westlaw's homepage, select "Secondary Sources," then select "Legal Resource Index" in the right sidebar under "Tools & Resources."
Access to Lexis+ is limited to Stanford Law School users by personal name and password.
Check Law Reviews & Journals to find published articles.
How to Use: On the homepage, select "Go to Lexis+." Then, click "Content, then "Law Reviews & Journals" under "Secondary Materials."
©Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305.